Americas Three Regimes: A New Political History

Americas Three Regimes: A New Political History by Morton Keller

By: Morton Keller

Date Released

Out Of Print

Only available to order.
Hailed in The New York Times Book Review as the single best book written in recent years on the sweep of American political history, this groundbreaking work divides our nations history into three regimes, each of which lasts many, many decades, allowing us to appreciate as never before the slow steady evolution of American politics, government, and law. The three regimes, which mark longer periods of continuity than traditional eras reflect, are Deferential and Republican, from the colonial period to the 1820s; Party and Democratic, from the 1830s to the 1930s; and Populist and Bureaucratic, from the 1930s to the present. Praised by The Economist as a feast to enjoy and by Foreign Affairs as a masterful and fresh account of U.S. politics, here is a major contribution to the history of the United States--an entirely new way to look at our past, our present, and our future--packed with provocative and original observations about American public life.
Publication Date:
04 / 02 / 2009

You might also like