Before You Knew My Name

Before You Knew My Name by Jacqueline Bublitz


ISBN
9781761067266
Published
Binding
Paperback
Pages
336
Dimensions
128 x 198mm

'Beautiful, brilliant and strangely joyous ... will have you in its thrall from its powerful first page to its superb conclusion.' Rose Carlyle, author of Girl in the Mirror

'Addictive and utterly captivating. I couldn't put it down.' Sarah Bailey, author of Where the Dead Go

'This astonishing debut turns the traditional crime story on its head ... Darkly funny, deeply insightful and completely heartbreaking.' Petronella McGovern, author of Six Minutes

'The most wonderful book. Unusual, beautiful, feminist, gripping, deserves to win prizes. I loved it so much'. Marian Keyes, author of Grown Ups

This is not just another novel about a dead girl.

When she arrived in New York on her 18th birthday carrying nothing but $600 cash and a stolen camera, Alice Lee was looking for a fresh start. Now, just one month later, she is the city's latest Jane Doe, an unidentified murder victim.

Ruby Jones is also trying to start over; she travelled halfway around the world only to find herself lonelier than ever. Until she finds Alice's body by the Hudson River.

From this first, devastating encounter, the two women form an unbreakable bond. Alice is sure that Ruby is the key to solving the mystery of her life - and death. And Ruby - struggling to forget what she saw that morning - finds herself unable to let Alice go. Not until she is given the ending she deserves.

Before You Knew My Name doesn't ask whodunnit. Instead, this powerful, hopeful novel asks: Who was she? And what did she leave behind? The answers might surprise you.

'A wake-up call, beautifully written and unique feminist exploration of the crime fiction genre.' R.W.R. McDonald, author of The Nancys

'Unpredictable, devastating and original ... marks the arrival of a compelling new voice ... Thought-provoking and challenging.' Karen Viggers, author of The Lightkeeper's Wife

'Beguiling, heartbreaking and tender. Jacqueline Bublitz is a beautiful writer and in Alice Lee, she has created a vivid and sparkling narrator who mesmerised me from the very first page and still won't let me go.' Suzanne Leal, author of The Teacher's Secret

'An unputdownable debut - striking, moving, gripping throughout and so sharp on the things that unite us' Elizabeth Kay, author of Seven Lies
14.99
RRP: $19.99
25% off RRP

Afterpay
Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more


Other Titles by Jacqueline Bublitz

Before You Knew My Name
29.99
10.00
67% Off
Description
Information
Reviews
'Beautiful, brilliant and strangely joyous ... will have you in its thrall from its powerful first page to its superb conclusion.' Rose Carlyle, author of Girl in the Mirror

'Addictive and utterly captivating. I couldn't put it down.' Sarah Bailey, author of Where the Dead Go

'This astonishing debut turns the traditional crime story on its head ... Darkly funny, deeply insightful and completely heartbreaking.' Petronella McGovern, author of Six Minutes

'The most wonderful book. Unusual, beautiful, feminist, gripping, deserves to win prizes. I loved it so much'. Marian Keyes, author of Grown Ups

This is not just another novel about a dead girl.

When she arrived in New York on her 18th birthday carrying nothing but $600 cash and a stolen camera, Alice Lee was looking for a fresh start. Now, just one month later, she is the city's latest Jane Doe, an unidentified murder victim.

Ruby Jones is also trying to start over; she travelled halfway around the world only to find herself lonelier than ever. Until she finds Alice's body by the Hudson River.

From this first, devastating encounter, the two women form an unbreakable bond. Alice is sure that Ruby is the key to solving the mystery of her life - and death. And Ruby - struggling to forget what she saw that morning - finds herself unable to let Alice go. Not until she is given the ending she deserves.

Before You Knew My Name doesn't ask whodunnit. Instead, this powerful, hopeful novel asks: Who was she? And what did she leave behind? The answers might surprise you.

'A wake-up call, beautifully written and unique feminist exploration of the crime fiction genre.' R.W.R. McDonald, author of The Nancys

'Unpredictable, devastating and original ... marks the arrival of a compelling new voice ... Thought-provoking and challenging.' Karen Viggers, author of The Lightkeeper's Wife

'Beguiling, heartbreaking and tender. Jacqueline Bublitz is a beautiful writer and in Alice Lee, she has created a vivid and sparkling narrator who mesmerised me from the very first page and still won't let me go.' Suzanne Leal, author of The Teacher's Secret

'An unputdownable debut - striking, moving, gripping throughout and so sharp on the things that unite us' Elizabeth Kay, author of Seven Lies
ISBN:
9781761067266
Publication Date:
25 / 11 / 2021
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
128 x 198mm
Untitled
Before you knew my name is a deeply moving book about two women whose lives have intersected. One Alive. One Dead. One woman moving to NY in the hopes of being famous. One running away from her life in Australia. The media wants to know who killed Jane Doe. You will want to know who was Jane Doe? - Jessica (QBD)
, 08/12/2021
Untitled
A whirlwind of emotions and a beautifully haunting story of a young womans hidden past. Ruby is an investigator tied to the case, a spiral of secrets unlocked and the mystery of the Jane Doe unravels through Ruby's eyes. This is THE crime novel of the year and you will not be able to put this down! 5 stars all the way! - Jacqueline (QBD)
, 07/12/2021
Untitled
"There is a girl who died today and Ruby doesn't even know her name" An emotionally gripping and raw debut novel that takes the crime genre and flips it on its head. Right from the very first page I was so emotionally invested in finding out, not what happened to her, but who was Jane Doe really? This is the kind of book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page. 5 stars! - Tayla (QBD)
, 05/12/2021
Untitled
A moving and timely book that explores female agency and the devasting effects of male violence. Confronting and heartbreaking, but also a beautiful testament to friendship. - Jessalyn (QBD)
, 05/12/2021
Untitled
A young girl runs away to New York, where she is raped and murdered by a face-less man. the police must find who did the crime and why. But what seperates this book from the rest is that it is told from the dead girl. But what seperates this book from the rest is that it is told from the dead girl. instead of asking yourself "who did it?" you know start to ask yourslef "Who was she?". - Holly (QBD)
, 05/12/2021
Untitled
It's true: This is not just another book about a dead girl. Bublitz has crafted an unputdownable debut, with vivid and relatable characters and a narrative that gripped me from page one and refused to let go. Unpredictable, original and devastating, this is a story that lingers with you long after it ends. You think you know crime fiction? You've never read anything like this before. - Natalie (QBD)
, 05/12/2021
Untitled
A stunning novel about two women - one murdered and the other who discovered the body. Combining feminism, mystery, betrayal and love, the author has seamlessly crafted a masterpeice. I adored every part of this novel. - Tricia (QBD)
, 04/12/2021
Untitled
If you loved The Lovely Bones and you are a fan of crime fiction, then this book is for you. Alice and Ruby are two lost souls searching for answers in New York. Unfortunately life does not always go to plan and these two characters become entwined with each other under the mosthorrible circumstances. With a beautiful cover, readers will find this book hard to put down. - Julie (QBD)
, 04/12/2021
Untitled
Alice Lee has crafted an original, unpredictable and breathtaking take on the crime genre with 'Before You Knew My Name'. An unputdownable debut with a vivid and relatable narrator, this book grabbed me from the very first page and refused to let go. You think you've read it all in the crime genre? Well you've never read anything like this before. There's a reason this book won Book of the Year! - Natalie (QBD)
, 02/12/2021
Untitled
An incredible story of two young women living similar lives in New York. When one of them is murdered and the other finds her body, she seeks to learn all she can about her life & death. A gripping novel that seeks an answer as to why humans are obsessed with stories of murder & murderers, recentring the victim in her own story. - Kiani (QBD)
, 02/12/2021
Untitled
There is a reason this is BOTY. Before you knew my name follows Alice and Ruby who move to NY City to make a fresh start. A month after the move, Alice is brutally murdered and Ruby is the one that discovers her body. Sounds likes a usual crime novel but it's not. This is told by the dead girl and the jogger that found her. Instead of asking "who did it?" Ask "who was she?". - Vanessa (QBD)
, 02/12/2021
Untitled
An incredibly poignant and compelling novel, Before You Knew My Name is not just another book about a dead girl. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones are sure to be moved by this powerful novel as it weaves a story focusing not on what she was doing, or wearing, but who she was. But how can one do that when she came to the city under false name? This debut novel packs an emotional punch. - Erin (QBD)
, 30/11/2021
Untitled
In the vein of a classic whodunnit and for fans of THE LOVELY BONES, Jacqueline Bublitz's stunning debut novel BEFORE YOU KNEW MY NAME is an unususal, startling, and powerful story about a dead girl desperate for answers, the woman who finds her body, and the relationship that forms between them. A gripping feminist tale with an important message, this one is not to be missed. - Joshua (QBD)
, 29/11/2021

You might also like

Better off Dead
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Judges List
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Treasure And Dirt
32.99
22.99
30% Off
The Dark Hours
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Housemate
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Pieces Of Her
32.99
10.00
70% Off
The Thursday Murder Club
19.99
16.99
15% Off
Over My Dead Body
39.99
29.99
25% Off
Fear No Evil
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Mercy
32.99
22.99
30% Off
The Deep
32.99
22.99
30% Off
When You Are Mine
32.99
13.99
58% Off
The Man Who Died Twice
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Autopsy
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Long Road To Mercy
29.99
10.00
67% Off
Cold Heart
24.99
10.00
60% Off
The Quickie
32.99
13.99
58% Off
Where The Dead Go
29.99
13.99
53% Off

RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.