• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Blackbird Fly

    By: Erin Entrada Kelly

    QTY
    -+
    $24.99
     
     
    ISBN
    9780062238610
    Date Released
    Binding
    Hardcover
     
     

    Only available to order
    Estimated 10 - 14 business days until dispatch

    If ordered before the 14th of December, this product should arrive by Christmas unless it is going to regional Australia
    Description
    Future rock star or friendless misfit? That's no choice at all. In this debut tween novel, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different, with friends and backstabbers and following her dreams. For fans of Wendy Mass and Wendelin Van Draanen. Future rock star, or friendless misfit? That's no choice at all. Apple Yengko moved from the Philippines to Louisiana when she was little, and now that she is in middle school, she grapples with being different, with friends and backstabbers, and with following her dreams. Apple has always felt a little different from her classmates. Her mother still cooks Filipino foods, speaks a mix of English and Cebuano, and chastises Apple for becoming "too American." It becomes unbearable in middle school, when the boys-the stupid, stupid boys-in Apple's class put her name on the Dog Log, the list of the most unpopular girls in school. When Apple's friends turn on her and everything about her life starts to seem weird and embarrassing, Apple turns to music. If she can just save enough to buy a guitar and learn to play, maybe she can change herself. It might be the music that saves her . . . or it might be her two new friends, who show how special she really is. Erin Entrada Kelly deftly brings Apple's conflicted emotions to the page in her debut novel about family, friendship, popularity, and going your own way.

    You might also like



    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444