Classic African American Womens Narratives

By: Unknown

Date Released

Instant Download

Only available to order.
Classic African American Womens Narratives offers teachers, students, and general readers a one-volume collection of the most memorable and important prose written by African American women before 1865. The book reproduces the canon of African American womens fiction and autobiography during the slavery era in U.S. history. Each text in the volume represents a first. Maria Stewarts Religion and the Pure Principles of Morality (1831) was the first political tract authored by an African American woman. Jarena Lees Life and Religious Experience (1836) was the first African American womans spiritual autobiography. The Narrative of Sojourner Truth (1850) was the first slave narrative to focus on the experience of a female slave in the United States. Frances E. W. Harpers The Two Offers (1859) was the first short story published by an African American woman. Harriet E. Wilsons Our Nig (1859) was the first novel written by an African American woman. Harriet Jacobs Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (1861) was the first autobiography authored by an African American woman. Charlotte Fortens Life on the Sea Islands (1864) was the first contribution by an African American woman to a major American literary magazine (the Atlantic Monthly). Complemented with an introduction by William L. Andrews, this is the only one-volume collection to gather the most important works of the first great era of African American womens writing.
Publication Date:
18 / 12 / 2002

You might also like