Cotton: The Biography Of A Revolutionary Fiber

Cotton: The Biography Of A Revolutionary Fiber by Stephen Yafa
$24.95
 
 
ISBN
9780143037224
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
416
Dimensions
129 x 198mm

Out Of Print

Other Titles by Stephen Yafa

eBook
$20.99 $4.00 Off RRP
Instant Download
Description
Information
In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky's 'Cod and Salt', this endlessly revealing book reminds us that the fiber we think of as ordinary is the world's most powerful cash crop, and that it has shaped the destiny of nations. Ranging from its domestication 5,500 years ago to its influence in creating Calvin Klein's empire and the Gap, Stephen Yafa's 'Cotton' gives us an intimate look at the plant that fooled Columbus into thinking he'd reached India, that helped start the Industrial Revolution as well as the American Civil War, and that made at least one bug-the boll weevil-world famous. A sweeping chronicle of ingenuity, greed, conflict, and opportunism, 'Cotton' offers "a barrage of fascinating information" (Los Angeles Times).
ISBN:
9780143037224
Publication Date:
01 / 08 / 2007
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
129 x 198mm

You might also like