Emergency Contact

Emergency Contact by Mary H. K. Choi
ISBN
9781534425934
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
400
Dimensions
140 x 210 x 25mm

Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.

-Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
17.99





Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

Loyalty Reward Rebate
  1. $0.90*
  2. $1.26*
  3. $1.80*
  4. $1.80*
  * Rebate calculated before redemption of credit. See Terms for more information.

Other Titles by Mary H. K. Choi

Description
Information
Reviews
Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.
-Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory-perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a cafe and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch-via text-and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.
ISBN:
9781534425934
Publication Date:
01 / 01 / 2019
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
140 x 210 x 25mm
Untitled
I liked Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi for the most part. While I did struggle a lot reading the first half, I really enjoyed the second half. The protagonist becomes more real and I was able to connect with them a lot. The plot also started to move forward in the second half and things started to come together. I also really enjoy the slow-burning relationship of Penny and Sam. Throughout the whole novel, Sam and Penny were able to confide in each other and as the novel goes on their relationship changes. Emergency Contact explores the notion of finding yourself and those around it. It’s about family, friends and finding new paths. - Angelique (QBD)
, 23/01/2019

You might also like