By: Jessica Maria Tuccelli

QTY
-+
$25.99
 
 
ISBN
9780143122920
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
324
Dimensions
178 x 121 x 20mm

Only available to order
Estimated 10 - 14 business days until dispatch

Description
Information
" A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century. In the autumn of 1941, Amelia J. McGee, a young woman of Cherokee and Scotch-Irish descent, and an outspoken pamphleteer for the NAACP, hastily sends her daughter, Ella, alone on a bus home to Georgia in the middle of the night-a desperate action that is met with dire consequences when the child encounters two drifters and is left for dead on the side of the road. Ella awakens to find herself in thehomestead of Willie Mae Cotton, a wise hoodoo practitioner and former slave, and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborn, tucked deep in the Takatoka forest. As Ella begins to heal, the legacies of her lineage are revealed. Glow transports us from Washington, D.C., on the brink of World War II to 1836 and into the mountain coves of Hopewell County, Georgia, full of ghosts both real and imagined. Illuminating the tragedy of human frailty, the power of friendship and hope, and the fiercest of all human bonds-mother love-this stunning debut will appeal to readers of both Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees and Amy Green's Bloodroot"--
ISBN:
9780143122920
Publication Date:
26 / 02 / 2013
Pages:
324
Dimensions:
178 x 121 x 20mm

You might also like



Accepted Payments

Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444