Free Delivery on orders over $25*

      • All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    By: Helen Gordon

    Date Released

    Instant Download

    For fans of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides, Landfall is a clear-eyed, witty and warm debut novel by former Granta editor Helen Gordon, that marks the arrival of a major new literary talent.

    Alice Robinson, art critic for a magazine so fashionable it's just gone out of business, finds herself agreeing to housesit for her parents. Moving back home to a suburbia she thought long behind her, she finds herself reconnecting with a different landscape, a fraught and painful past.For everywhere Alice turns she finds traces of her sister, who went missing as a teenager. Can she stop her old life intruding on the present? Should she even try? What does Alice's new future look like?'An intriguing novel . . . a hipster version of Margaret Atwood's Surfacing' Metro'A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown' Helen Dunmore'Compulsively readable' Independent on Sunday'Fine writing . . . wrapped in an arresting evocation of timelessness' Guardian'Brooding and haunting' Tatler'Uplifting, witty, wonderfully unsettling' Psychologies'Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale' Easy LivingHelen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444