Other People's Houses

Other People's Houses by Kelli Hawkins


ISBN
9781460759226
Published
Binding
Paperback

A stunningly tense, page-turning debut for all fans of The Woman in the Window and The Girl on the Train The perfect house. The perfect family. Too good to be true.Kate Webb still grieves for her young son, ten years after his loss. She spends her weekends hungover, attending open houses on Sydney's wealthy north shore and imagining the lives of the people who live there.Then Kate visits the Harding house - the perfect house with, it seems, the perfect family. A photograph captures a kind-looking man, a beautiful woman she once knew from university days, and a boy - a boy that for one heartbreaking moment she believes is her own son. When her curiosity turns to obsession, she uncovers the cracks that lie beneath a glossy facade of perfection, sordid truths she could never have imagined. But is it her imagination? As events start to spiral dangerously out of control, could the real threat come from Kate herself?
22.99
RRP: $32.99
30% off RRP


Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.
If ordered before the 1st of May, this product should arrive by Mother's Day

Other Titles by Kelli Hawkins

Description
Information
Reviews
A stunningly tense, page-turning debut for all fans of The Woman in the Window and The Girl on the Train The perfect house. The perfect family. Too good to be true.Kate Webb still grieves for her young son, ten years after his loss. She spends her weekends hungover, attending open houses on Sydney's wealthy north shore and imagining the lives of the people who live there.Then Kate visits the Harding house - the perfect house with, it seems, the perfect family. A photograph captures a kind-looking man, a beautiful woman she once knew from university days, and a boy - a boy that for one heartbreaking moment she believes is her own son. When her curiosity turns to obsession, she uncovers the cracks that lie beneath a glossy facade of perfection, sordid truths she could never have imagined. But is it her imagination? As events start to spiral dangerously out of control, could the real threat come from Kate herself?
ISBN:
9781460759226
Publication Date:
03 / 03 / 2021
Untitled
Other People's Houses is a capivating, grimming psychological thriller that makes you question who you can trust & what is real. Perfect for fans of Girl on the Train. - Abbey (QBD)
, 02/03/2021
Untitled
I'm going to give you a fair warning here, this is not a book to read on a work night. You'll decide to read a chapter before bed and then another and then another and before you know it, you're finished and it's 3am! Once you start this book it's impossible to put it down - it's incredible. - Emily (QBD)
, 02/03/2021
Untitled
A must read for fans of Girl on a Train. Ten years ago, Kate Webb lost her young son Sacha. Since then, she has spent her time drunk, hungover or visiting open houses on Sydney's North Shore, imaging the lives of the happy families who live in them. Curiosity leads to obsession as she discovers the home of past acquaintance and soon discovers her life isn't as perfect as it seems. - Alison (QBD)
, 02/03/2021
Untitled
Kate goes to her 9-5, sees Dr Evans once a fortnight and spends the rest of her time drinking and trying to quit. Every weekend Kate visits open homes whilst hungover, imagining how Sydneys's wealthy live. Until the Harding House, where she spots a family photo and for a moment believes the young boy in the photo to be her dead son.A dark and compelling tale that grips you until the very end. - Vanessa (QBD)
, 02/03/2021
Untitled
In an unlikely turn of events Kate finds herself digging for more than she bargained for. This thriller speaks through a 'Cathy Glass' like story with a dash of 'Girl on the train'. Kate has a creative mind, she spends her weekends attending open homes catching a glimpse of other peoples lives where one fateful afternoon her past sneaks up on her, Should Kate really be here? - Jacqueline (QBD)
, 02/03/2021
Untitled
A domestic drama comparable to 'The Girl on the Train' and 'Big Little Lies', 'Other People's Houses' invites you to follow the life of Kate as she becomes obsessed with the seemingly perfect Harding family as a way of forgetting her own lost son. Perfect for people who love family dramas, thrillers and character driven stories. - Jamie (QBD)
, 01/03/2021
Untitled
This addicitve thriller is a true page-turner with serious "Girl on the train" vibes - the kind of book you will devour in one sitting, desperate to see how it ends. Hawkins' shows a real talent for writing complex characters. Your heart will break for Kate even while you cringe in frustration at her actions. A really impressive debut. - Jessalyn (QBD)
, 01/03/2021
Untitled
A thrilling debut! Kelli Hawkins has you biting your nails as you watch the events of her Kate's life unfold - and not always for the best. With an incredible and flawed narrator who grieves the death of her young son for many years, she takes solace imagining her life as one of the wealthy elite before begin to slip out of her control. Perfect for fans of Sheerwater or The Girl on the Train! - Dion (QBD)
, 01/03/2021
Untitled
An intense page-turning debut I could not put down. Kate, a grieving mum who lost her son 10 years ago now spends her weekends attending open houses imagining the lives of the people who live there. Then one day she visits the Harding house. The perfect house it seems with the perfect family, until she spots someone... who she believes to be her son. Perfect for readers looking for a thrill! - Tia (QBD)
, 28/02/2021
Untitled
Kate still grieves the loss of her son and after visiting the Harding family House, her curiosity towards the family devolves to obsession as she uncovers the secrets and lies that hide behind the picturesque family. But can she trust what she learns when she cannot even trust herself? Other People's Houses is a wonderfully tense narrative of one woman's loss, obssession and fall from reality. - Chelsea (QBD)
, 28/02/2021
Untitled
‘Other People’s Houses’ was not what I expected. This isn’t any ordinary run-of-the-mill thriller set in the leafy suburbs of Sydney. What starts out is a weird voyeuristic obsession of attending open houses morphs into getting caught in the middle of something that isn’t clear until the very end. A fantastic debut crime novel and a great exploration into the psyche of the suburban housewife. - Daniel (QBD)
, 28/02/2021
Untitled
Other People's Houses is a great story that you can fall into and lose track of your day. If you like psychological suspense and intrigue this is your book. Not only is it easy to read, but Kate's life is so interesting it keeps you captivated. I would definitely reccomend it for anyone who has read 'The Woman in the Window'. - David (QBD)
, 27/02/2021
Untitled
A house is supposed to be a home, right? Other People's Houses makes you question everything about pretty facades. Following an unreliable narrator with a twisted past, it makes you question what is real and what isn't in a game of obsession. - Layla (QBD)
, 27/02/2021
Untitled
Jeez, this one was tense! Gripped me in the same way Girl On The Train did! Protagonist Kate is a tragic-but-wonderful mess of a character who navigates us through a gripping crime drama uncovering the mysteries tied to the loss of her son a decade earlier. Compelling, fast-paced, and utterly memorable! I can't recommend this one highly enough. - Katrina (QBD)
, 26/02/2021
Untitled
Debut Australian author, Kelli Hawkins weaves a thrilling story centred around the flawed character of Kate who is on a downward spiral of alcoholism and depression following the death of her son. Kate develops an unhealthy fixation of other people's lives as she attends open houses in the leafy suburbs of Sydney. Kate becomes infatuated with the Harding Family after she sees the Family Potrait. - Elizabeth (QBD)
, 26/02/2021
Untitled
Fans of 'Woman In The Window' and Pip Drysdale will love this gritty thriller about a woman's obsession and how far she will go. Great debut novel from an up and coming Australian author, this thriller will have you gripped until the very last page. - Zoe (QBD)
, 23/02/2021
Untitled
A dark novel of heartbreak turned to obsession. Kate is a likeable yet unreliable narrator who is still struggling with the grief of losing her son. Visiting open house inspections to escape her reality, Kate becomes fixated on the seemingly perfect Harding family. But she will soon learn that every family has their secrets, some darker than others. - Grace (QBD)
, 21/02/2021
Untitled
If you liked Woman in the Window and The Girl on the train, then you will love getting pulled into this debut by Kelli Hawkins. A unreliable narrator, we follow Kates journey as she goes from visiting open houses, to stalking the Harding family that resides inside. A mixture of stories from 'before' and 'after', events start to spiral out of control, and you wonder, who is the real threat? - Kylie (QBD)
, 28/12/2020

You might also like


RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.