• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Penguin Modern Classics: Collected Short Stories Of E M Forster

    By: E M Forster

    Date Released

    Out of Print

    Dedicated to Hermes - messenger, machine-breaker and conductor of souls to a not-so-terrible hereafter - this collection is composed of masterpieces of fantasy. Written at various dates before the First World War, these twelve stories contain themes that were to re-emerge in Forster's later work, in particular the attempt to escape from the 'respectable claim of reality'. 'The Machine Stops' is an Orwellian reaction to the earlier heavens of H. G. Wells; 'The Road from Colonus' sees the victory of a tedious family over an old man's vision; and 'The Celestial Omnibus' has innocence triumphing over experience. Above all, Forster demonstrates his belief in freedom, self-realisation and a spiritual honesty that may be used to defeat the lies of repression.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444