• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Penguin Modern Classics: Flying Home & Other Stories

    By: Ralph Ellison

    Date Released

    Out of Print

    When Ralph Ellison died in 1994 he had published only one novel, Invisible Man, one of the great classics of post-war American fiction. This volume collects together for the first time thirteen early stories, six of which were never published in Ellison's lifetime. Many of the characters in these stories anticipate Ellison's creation in Invisible Man of a protagonist who 'included himself in his indictment of the human condition' and was therefore better able to see the world in all its diversity. From the Twenties through to the Forties successive stories give authentic voice to black America as experienced by a struggling writer already wonderfully accomplished in his craft.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444