• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Royal Air Force at War 1939 - 1945

    By: Hilary St George Saunders

    Date Released

    Instant Download

    The final volume of the definitive 'The Royal Air Force 1939 to 1940 three volume history of the RAF. The Fight is Won' was written by Hilary St George Saunders and is noticeably different in style to the previous two volumes. Saunders before WW II had been a writer of Fantasy fiction and his writing style is 'literary' rather than 'historical'. Although no less accurate than the other volumes the final volume is an enthralling read. At times amusing, as when Lieutenant Veitch is shot down and rescued three times from the sea - and the rescuing aircraft commander says 'haven't we met before'. At times emotional when Flight Lieutenant Wannop drops food to the starving people of Holland. And at times inspiring when we read of, Flight Lieutenant William Reid VC struggling back from Mannheim in his crippled aircraft. As with the other volumes in the series it was necessary to remove the maps and diagrams to make it readable on a Kindle.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444