The Gilded Years

The Gilded Years by Karin Tanabe


ISBN
9781761105135
Published
Binding
Paperback
Pages
400
Dimensions
153 x 234mm

A captivating historical novel based on the true story of Anita Hemmings, the first Black student to attend the prestigious Vassar College by passing as white dash; until she let herself grow too attached to the wrong person. For fans of The Vanishing Half and The House of Mirth, from the author of A Women of Intelligence.

Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed to attend the countrytsquo;s most exclusive school for women, Vassar College. Now, a bright, beautiful senior in the class of 1897, she is hiding a secret that would have banned her from admission: Anita is the only African-American student ever to attend Vassar. With her olive complexion and dark hair, this daughter of a janitor and descendant of slaves has successfully passed as white, but now finds herself rooming with Lottie Taylor, the scion of one of New Yorkmsquo;s most prominent families.

Though Anita has kept herself at a distance from her classmates, Lottiessquo;s sphere of influence is inescapable, her energy irresistible, and the two become fast friends. Pulled into her elite world, Anita learns what ittsquo;s like to be treated as a wealthy, educated white woman vdash; the person everyone believes her to be edash; and even finds herself in a heady romance with a moneyed Harvard student. Itlsquo;s only when Lottie becomes infatuated with Anitaasquo;s brother, Frederick, whose skin is almost as light as his sisterasquo;s, that the situation becomes particularly perilous. And as Anitansquo;s college graduation looms, those closest to her will be the ones to dangerously threaten her secret.

Set against the vibrant backdrop of the Gilded Age, an era when old money traditions collided with modern ideas, Tanabe has written an unputdownable and emotionally compelling story of hope, sacrifice, and betrayal ?dash; and a gripping account of how one woman dared to risk everything for the chance at a better life.
  'Tanabe immerses the reader in a world of romance and manners, but also leaves you gripping the edge of your seat ?ellip; An elegant and extremely gratifying imagining of one remarkable woman's life.' USA Today
29.99

Afterpay
Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

Other Titles by Karin Tanabe

The Gilded Years
22.99
22.99
_% Off
A Woman Of Intelligence
19.99
19.99
_% Off
A Woman Of Intelligence
32.99
14.99
55% Off
A Hundred Suns
32.99
32.99
_% Off
Diplomats Daughter
24.99
24.99
_% Off

You might also like

Where The Crawdads Sing
22.99
17.99
22% Off
Again Rachel
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Mother
32.99
32.99
_% Off
Storm Tide
39.99
26.99
33% Off
The Little Wartime Library
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Cobalt Blue
29.99
19.99
33% Off
The Search
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Black Hills
29.99
14.99
50% Off
The Last Paradise
29.99
14.99
50% Off
Chasing Fire
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Whiskey Beach
29.99
14.99
50% Off
Three Sisters
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Dark Vector
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Trip Of A Lifetime
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Beautiful
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Book Of Two Ways
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Collector
29.99
14.99
50% Off
Normal People
19.99
15.99
20% Off
The Dictionary Of Lost Words
19.99
14.99
25% Off

RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.