The Indian School

The Indian School by Gloria Whelan
QTY
-+
$7.99
 
 


ISBN
9780061975844
Date Released
Binding
eBook
 
 

Instant Download

Other Titles by Gloria Whelan

Paperback
$14.99
Only available to order.
Description
Information
A critically acclaimed historical novel by the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird. When shy ten-year-old Lucy comes to live with her aunt and uncle at their mission school, she's surprised at the number of harsh rules and restrictions imposed on the children. Why, she wonders, should the Indians have to do all the changing? And why is her aunt so strict with them?Then a girl called Raven runs away in protest, and Lucy knows she must overcome her timidity and stand up to her aunt—no matter what the consequences. With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Linda Sue Park and Louise Erdrich.
ISBN:
9780061975844
Publication Date:
06 / 10 / 2009

You might also like