Books of the Month - Fiction

Book Of The Month

The Fury

The Fury

Alex Michaelides

An exhilarating, gripping new psychological thriller from the author behind the record-breaking, multimillion-copy bestseller, The Silent Patient This is a tale of murder. Or maybe that's not quite true. At its heart, it's a love story, isn't it? One spring morning, reclusive ex-movie star Lana Farrar invites a small group of her closest friends for a weekend away, on her small private island, just off the coast of Mykonos. Beneath the surface, old friendships conceal violent passions and resentments. And in forty-eight hours, one of them will be dead. But that was just the beginning... You may think you know this story. Think again.

January
The Strip

The Strip

Iain Ryan

When a local doctor is brutally murdered, Detective Constable Lana Cohen joins Strike Force Diablo on the notorious Gold Coast, where she finds herself navigating a world of chaos and corruption. As she delves deeper into the case, Lana reluctantly pairs up with Henry Loch, a detective with a tarnished reputation who sees an opportunity to redeem himself amidst the mayhem. But as Lana and Henry unravel the threads of violence and deceit, they uncover a dark side to the Gold Coast that shocks them to the core. With six unsolved murders already haunting them, will they be able to untangle the web of lies before it's too late? Based on real-life events, The Strip is a gripping crime thriller that paints a vivid portrait of a time and place where corruption and ambition reign supreme.

December
Lola In The Mirror

Lola In The Mirror

Trent Dalton

Bighearted, gritty, magical and moving, Lola in the Mirror is the irresistible new novel from international bestselling author of Boy Swallows Universe and All Our Shimmering Skies, Trent Dalton. 'Mirror, mirror, on the grass, what's my future? What's my past?'A girl and her mother are on the lam. They've been running for sixteen years, from police and the monster they left in the kitchen with the knife in his throat. They've found themselves a home inside an orange 1987 Toyota HiAce van with four flat tyres parked in a scrapyard by the edge of the Brisbane River - just two of the 100,000 Australians sleeping rough every night. The girl has no name because names are dangerous when you're on the run. But the girl has a dream.

November
Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect

Everyone On This Train Is A Suspect

Benjamin Stevenson

PRE-ORDER NOW THE EAGERLY AWAITED FOLLOW-UP TO THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE. Ernest Cunningham returns in a deliciously witty locked room (train) mystery. When the Australian Mystery Writers' Society invited me to their crime-writing festival aboard the Ghan, the famous train between Darwin and Adelaide, I was hoping for some inspiration for my second book. Fiction, this time- I needed a break from real people killing each other. Obviously, that didn't pan out. The program is a who's who of crime writing royalty- the debut writer (me!) the forensic science writer the blockbuster writer the legal thriller writer the literary writer the psychological suspense writer. But when one of us is murdered, six authors quickly turn into five detectives. Together, we should know how to solve a crime. Or commit one. How can you find a killer when all the suspects know how to get away with murder? Praise for EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE- 'What an exceptionally fresh, smart, funny book - I've never read anything like this before.' Jane Harper 'As fresh and zingy as a salted lime.

October
Prima Facie

Prima Facie

Suzie Miller

Tessa is a thoroughbred. A young, brilliant barrister. She has worked her way up from a working-class background to be at the top of her game: defending, cross-examining and lighting up the shadows of doubt in any case. Her masterful line of questioning in the courtroom has netted Tessa win after win, freeing men accused of rape and sexual assault. As controversial as it is, this is her job - it's just about the facts and who can game the system. Working late one night, Tessa falls into a casual relationship with Julian, a coworker, an attorney who comes from an elite, wealthy family.

September
Ripper

Ripper

Shelley Burr

She knows her once-charming town is now remembered for one reason, and one reason only. That three innocent people died. That the last stop on the Rainier Ripper's trail of death fifteen years ago was her innocuous little teashop. She knows that the consequences of catching the Ripper still haunt her police officer husband and their marriage to this day and that some of her neighbours are desperate - desperate enough to welcome a dark tourism company keen to cash in on Rainier's reputation as the murder town. When the tour operator is killed by a Ripper copycat on Gemma's doorstep, the unease that has lurked quietly in the original killer's wake turns to foreboding, and she's drawn into the investigation. Unbeknownst to her, so is a prisoner named Lane Holland.

August
The Caretaker

The Caretaker

Gabriel Bergmoser

Gabriel Bergmoser, author of explosive bestselling thriller The Hunted returns with a suspenseful new standalone thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. An isolated, empty ski resort in the off-season. A woman who doesn't want to be found. A man who may not be who he appears to be. It's a game of cat and mouse - with deadly consequences.On the run from a controlling husband and his underworld associates in Melbourne, Charlotte has adopted a new identity and found a job as an off-season caretaker in a tiny, deserted Alpine resort. Some dangerous people are looking for Charlotte and so she's lying low, tending to the lodges, safe in her solitude, but jumping every time a floor creaks or the wind whistles through the empty corridors of the deserted lodges.

July
Zero Days

Zero Days

Ruth Ware

International bestseller Ruth Ware returns with this adrenaline-fueled thriller about a woman in a race against time to clear her name and find her husband’s killer. Hired by companies to break into buildings and hack security systems, Jack and her husband Gabe are the best penetration specialists in the business. But after a routine assignment goes horribly wrong, Jack arrives home to find her husband dead. To add to her horror, the police are closing in on their only suspect – her. On the run and out of options, Jack must decide who she can trust as she circles closer to the truth in this unputdownable and heart-pounding mystery from 'one of the best thriller writers around today' Ruth Ware.

June
Drowning

Drowning

T. J. Newman

Flight attendant turned New York Times bestselling author T. J. Newman—whose first book Falling was an instant bestseller, an international sensation translated into 30 languages, and the biggest thriller debut of 2021—returns for her second book, which 'reads like Apollo 13 underwater' (Don Winslow). Six minutes after Flight 1421 takes off, it crashes into the ocean. The passengers who survive the crash think it's a miracle. They believe they're the lucky ones. Then the plane begins to sink to the ocean floor. The survivors are trapped inside. Against all odds, a massive rescue operation is launched to save them. There is not much time. There is even less air.

May
The Heart Is A Star

The Heart Is A Star

Megan Rogers

Absorbing, lyrical, vivid and compulsively readable - The Heart is a Star is beautiful storytelling from a talented new writer. A novel for fans of Holly Ringland, Jacqueline Maley, Hannah Richell. Layla Byrnes is exhausted. She's juggling a demanding job as an anaesthetist, a disintegrating marriage, her young kids, and a needy lover. And most particularly she's managing her histrionically unstable mother, who repeatedly threatens to kill herself.But this year, it's different. When her mother rings just before Christmas, she doesn't follow the usual script.

April
The Bookbinder Of Jericho

The Bookbinder Of Jericho

Pip Williams

What is lost when knowledge is withheld? In 1914, when the war draws the young men of Britain away to fight, it is the women who must keep the nation running. Two of those women are Peggy and Maude, twin sisters who work in the bindery at Oxford University Press in Jericho. Peggy is intelligent, ambitious and dreams of going to Oxford University, but for most of her life she has been told her job is to bind the books, not read them. Maude, meanwhile, wants nothing more than what she has. She is extraordinary but vulnerable.

March
Dark Mode

Dark Mode

Ashley Kalagian Blunt

Once you’re online, there’s nowhere to hide Is it paranoia – or is someone watching? For years, Reagan Carsen has kept her life offline. No socials. No internet presence. No photos. Safe.



RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.