• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Savoy Operas: The Complete Gilbert and Sullivan

    By: W S Gilbert & Arthur Sullivan

    Date Released

    Out of Print

    'Life's a pudding full of plums'

    Together, librettist W.S. Gilbert and composer Arthur Sullivan created some of the best-loved musical works in the world, with a finely honed yet anarchic sensibility that found its expression in upturned logic and extravagant wordplay. This collection brings together all of their operatic collaborations, from their first joint venture, Thespis, the music of which is now largely lost, to the triumphant comic romps of The Pirates of Penzance and The Mikado, to less frequently performed gems such as the fanciful The Sorcerer and the acerbic lampoon Patience. The fourteen Savoys Operas show Gilbert as a great poet as well as a humourist, and illustrations from his Bab Ballads reveal an entertaining comic artist.

    The introduction by Mike Leigh explores the often conflicting characters of the two men, and the style, techniques and impact of the operas. There are also extensive notes on each work by Ed Glinert.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444