• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Penguin Modern Classics: The Complete Short Novels Of D H Lawrence

    By: D H Lawrence

    Date Released

    Out of Print

    The Captain's Doll; The Fox; The Ladybird; St Mawr; The Princess

    DH Lawrence was considered by EM Forster to be 'the greatest imaginative novelist of our generation' and his ingenuity is abundantly in evidence in these 7 short novels. In The Captain's Doll, The Fox and The Ladybird, published together in 1923, Lawrence explored a new form, formulating his views on power and leadership in the aftermath of the First World War. The four novellas that followed, including The Virgin and the Gipsy and The Princess, were some of the last fiction he was to write and are vital and beautifully shaped tales. And in St Mawr, set in New Mexico, and The Escaped Cock, an extraordinary reworking of the story of Christ's resurrection, Lawrence evoked the richness and depth of myth.

    "He's an intoxicator... Has there ever been anyone like him for bringing places and people so vividly to life?"
    Doris Lessing

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444