The Cruel Prince

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
$19.99
BUY IT NOW
Loyalty Reward Rebate
  1. $1.00*
  2. $1.40*
  3. $2.00*
  4. $2.00*
  * Rebate calculated before redemption of credit. See Terms for more information.


ISBN
9781471407031
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
384
Dimensions
153 x 234mm
Available at our stores or Find in store
Estimated 4 - 6 business days until dispatch

If ordered before the 10th of December, this product should arrive by Christmas unless it is going to regional Australia

Other Titles by Holly Black

Description
Information
Titles in Series
Reviews
Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

One terrible morning, Jude and her sisters see their parents murdered in front of them. The terrifying assassin abducts all three girls to the world of Faerie, where Jude is installed in the royal court but mocked and tormented by the Faerie royalty for being mortal. As Jude grows older, she realises that she will need to take part in the dangerous deceptions of the fey to ever truly belong.

But the stairway to power is fraught with shadows and betrayal. And looming over all is the infuriating, arrogant and charismatic Prince Cardan ...

Dramatic and thrilling fantasy blends seamlessly with enthralling storytelling to create a fully realised and seductive world, brimful of magic and romance.
ISBN:
9781471407031
Publication Date:
02 / 01 / 2018
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
153 x 234mm
The Cruel Prince
$19.99
 
 

The Cruel Prince
$16.99
 
 

Wicked King
$19.99
 
 

Untitled
The Cruel Prince is a treasure – a triumph of character and story. This book shows Holly Black in peak form; delightfully dark and deliciously wicked, set in a complex and lush world you can't help but want to visit. If you like faeries, romance, and fantasy novels, The Cruel Prince is a must read for teenagers and grown-ups alike! Perfect for fans of Tessa Gratton, Naomi Novak and Sarah J Maas - Melanie (QBD)
, 08/04/2018
Untitled
I adored The Cruel Prince. From the very first page, I was entranced with the fae world that Holly created. Second, guessing everything and not knowing what was going to happen next. I’m not sure if my review will do this book justice. The Cruel Prince follows protagonist Jude ten years after she and her sisters witness their parents murder, kidnapped and taken to the fae world. Now they live in the High Court of Faerie and in a world that doesn’t accept them. Jude doesn’t fit into the fae world and the fey don’t let her forget it. With the current King ready to step down, things are about to get more dangerous in the world that Jude lives. One of my favourite things about The Cruel Prince was Jude. While she isn’t the most likeable protagonist out there, her voice and perseverance – just made the book. Jude is such an interesting protagonist and like most characters in the book, you don’t know what to believe. She has gone through a lot. Her parents were murdered in front of her, she lives with the murdered and is taken to a foreign world. Her strength was a really big theme of the whole book. I loved seeing Jude stand up and be strong, no matter what was throw at her. And gosh she was pushed hard. At times it was really hard to read some of the things that Jude went through. What got me through it was Jude herself. I loved seeing another strong female character not only be challenged physically but mentally. Jude’s family. There isn’t much I can say here without spoiling anything. But what I hoped wouldn’t happen did and that broke my heart. You can see that Jude does care for her sisters and what went down was so damn hard. It’s also a really interesting concept of family. She has her sisters, yes. However, she also lives with the man that killed her parents. It was intriguing to see the dynamic of this. The Cruel Prince is filled with unreliable characters and it was fantastic! Seriously, I didn’t know what was going to happen next, because I didn’t know who to trust. Holly Black made her characters do things that I thought she would never do. You think one character is your friend and then bam! It’s not something that you get in YA and it was different to see. Another thing that I loved about The Cruel Prince was the world. It’s fantastic and pulls your right in. Holly Black created a lot of layers in this world, with the basics of fae laws. I really enjoy that as it’s a great way to compare and contrast to other fae worlds. While at the start of The Cruel Prince it took me a little to get into the world, it wasn’t long before I was in love. As I’ve said before, I had no idea what was going to happen throughout The Cruel Prince. You think something is going to happen and then it doesn’t. Then you think ‘oh she won’t do this’ and it does. It takes you on a world wind of emotions. Overall, I really enjoyed The Cruel Prince. It’s addicting, dark and messes with your emotions. It’s a world of court intrigue and the conflict between fae and humans. It explores the notion of being human and the emotions that come with it. It’s fast-paced with many twists and turns that throw you off. The Cruel Prince has set up a fantastic new series for Holly Black. - Angelique (QBD)
, 18/02/2018
Untitled
I would classify this one as a quick read but that does not mean it's bad. In fact I was enthralled with the story from the get go. Some magical, creepy Fae guy comes and murders your parents and takes you and your sisters back to his home land of Faerieland then you know you're in for one heck of a ride. The only downside to this book, is that it is written in quite a "young" way. This might be because Holly Black has mostly written younger novels ie Magisterium, Spiderwick Chronicles and I feel like she hasn't fleshed out or followed through with some of the story line that could've really improved the flow of this book. But again, that's not to say it's bad. The story line is the focal point of The Cruel Prince and I found it easy to look past some of the more childish or repetitive aspects, all because I so badly wanted to know what was going to unfold. - Lisa (QBD)
, 16/01/2018

You might also like