Digging Up Dirt

Digging Up Dirt by Pamela Hart


ISBN
9781867201878
Published
Binding
Paperback

Renovations are hell. And that's before you find the body beneath the floorboards. An intriguing mystery from a stylish new voice in crime fiction, for readers of Kerry Greenwood and Holly Throsby.

When your builder finds bones under the floor of your heritage home, what do you do? For TV researcher Poppy McGowan, the first step is to find out if the bones are human (which means calling in the cops and delaying her renovations) or animal (which doesn't).Unfortunately, 'help' comes in the form of Dr Julieanne Weaver, archaeologist, political hopeful, and Poppy's old enemy. She declares the bones evidence of a rare breed of fat-tailed sheep, and slaps a heritage order on the site. The resultant archaeological dig introduces Poppy to Tol Lang, the best-looking archaeologist she's ever met - and also Julieanne's boyfriend.When Julieanne is found murdered in Poppy's house, both she and the increasingly attractive Tol are considered suspects - and so Poppy uses her media contacts and news savvy to investigate other suspects. Did Julieanne have enemies in the right-wing Australian Family Party, for which she was seeking preselection, or in the affiliated Radiant Joy Church? Or at the Museum of New South Wales, among her rivals and ex-boyfriends? And who was her secret lover?Can Poppy save herself, and Tol ... and finally get her house back?'Fast, fun and ferocious in turns' - Candice Fox 'Digging Up Dirt is a clever, blackly funny murder mystery of our times' - Petronella McGovern
29.99

Afterpay
Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more


Other Titles by Pamela Hart

The War Bride
19.99
7.99
60% Off
The Charleston Scandal
32.99
32.99
_% Off
The Desert Nurse
29.99
29.99
_% Off
A Letter From Italy
29.99
29.99
_% Off
The Soldiers Wife
14.99
14.99
_% Off
Description
Information
Reviews
Renovations are hell. And that's before you find the body beneath the floorboards. An intriguing mystery from a stylish new voice in crime fiction, for readers of Kerry Greenwood and Holly Throsby.

When your builder finds bones under the floor of your heritage home, what do you do? For TV researcher Poppy McGowan, the first step is to find out if the bones are human (which means calling in the cops and delaying her renovations) or animal (which doesn't).Unfortunately, 'help' comes in the form of Dr Julieanne Weaver, archaeologist, political hopeful, and Poppy's old enemy. She declares the bones evidence of a rare breed of fat-tailed sheep, and slaps a heritage order on the site. The resultant archaeological dig introduces Poppy to Tol Lang, the best-looking archaeologist she's ever met - and also Julieanne's boyfriend.When Julieanne is found murdered in Poppy's house, both she and the increasingly attractive Tol are considered suspects - and so Poppy uses her media contacts and news savvy to investigate other suspects. Did Julieanne have enemies in the right-wing Australian Family Party, for which she was seeking preselection, or in the affiliated Radiant Joy Church? Or at the Museum of New South Wales, among her rivals and ex-boyfriends? And who was her secret lover?Can Poppy save herself, and Tol ... and finally get her house back?'Fast, fun and ferocious in turns' - Candice Fox 'Digging Up Dirt is a clever, blackly funny murder mystery of our times' - Petronella McGovern
ISBN:
9781867201878
Publication Date:
02 / 06 / 2021
A wonderfully enjoyable read!
It's rare for me to give 5 stars to a "cosy" mystery, but this one really hit the mark for me! It strikes a perfect balance between intrigue and humour, with great characters, a little "will they? won't they?" romance and an action-packed plot leading to a satisfying conclusion. I love the cover by Julia Murray, too! Poppy McGowan works as a researcher for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC), working on a stimulating "real life" show for kids. When her builder discovers a skeleton beneath the floorboards of the cottage she's renovating, it seems a great opportunity to film a segment on suburban archaeology. Things don't stay fun for long though - firstly, the head archaeologist Dr. Julieanne Weaver, a long-time nemesis of Poppy's, threatens to whack a heritage order on her property, then said archaeologist is found dead in the excavation pit that was once Poppy's living room! Drawing on her skills in researching and natural tenacity, Poppy sets out to discover who, apart from herself, might benefit from Dr. Weaver's untimely death. Her search leads her from the many curious characters who work at the Museum of New South Wales, to the murky and tangled web behind both the ultra-conservative Australian Family Party and the Pentecostal-style Church of Radiant Joy. Her investigations lead to a wonderfully high-camp denouement, featuring heroes, villains and members of local government. Pamela Hart successfully blends a lighthearted mystery with some deeper messages about politics, the news media, attitudes to women and the LGBTI+ community, and the hypocrisies rampant within certain religious lobby groups. As a counterpoint, Poppy's parents and broader family, who are practising Roman Catholics, provide many moments of domestic levity. Digging Up Dirt was a stimulating and highly enjoyable read and I'm delighted to learn that it's the first in a new series by author Pamela Hart. I'd highly recommend the book to any and all lovers of crime and mystery, especially those who seek a less gritty, more up-beat style.
, 02/06/2021


RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.