Falling into Place

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang
Loyalty Reward Rebate
  1. $0.90*
  2. $1.26*
  3. $1.80*
  4. $1.80*
  * Rebate calculated before redemption of credit. See Terms for more information.

Amy Zhang
Date Released
129 x 198 x 24mm
Only available to order or Find in store
Estimated 10 - 14 business days until dispatch

Other Titles by Amy Zhang

One cold fall day, high school junior Liz Emerson steers her car into a tree. This haunting and heartbreaking story is told by a surprising and unexpected narrator and unfolds in nonlinear flashbacks even as Liz's friends, foes, and family gather at the hospital and Liz clings to life.

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton's Laws of Motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High's most popular junior girl. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to love someone? To be a friend? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect?
Publication Date:
01 / 09 / 2014
129 x 198 x 24mm
"Falling into Place" is a hauntingly beautiful, heartbreaking novel and is the saddest book I have ever read – more so than Jay Asher’s "Thirteen Reasons Why", John Green’s "The Fault in Our Stars" and Victoria Roth’s "Allegiant" combined. I cried continuously throughout "Falling into Place" – I don’t think I ever quite stopped. I loved getting to know all the characters and my heart kept breaking for them. Over and over again. All of the characters were great, but Liam and Ms. Greenberg stuck out in the best way. I love Liam. Totally and completely. He vaguely reminded me of Liam from Alexandra Bracken’s "The Darkest Minds" in that they were totally understanding, cute, forgiving and embraced the fact that they were misfits. They were both so pure and true to themselves and underrated. Ms. Greenberg, although she only appeared briefly, was totally awesome and reminiscent of McGonagall. That speech? Wicked. I went through several theories about who the narrator was, but it only became apparent about three quarters through, and only conformed at the end. When I got over the frustration of not knowing, it was kind of cool – after all, they had perspective and insight that no one else could. "Falling into Place" outlines the stark realities that a lot of people face and challenges you not to judge or take people for granted; to not leave unsaid what ought to be said. It is the tale of a girl who attempts suicide, and pieces together her life and what drove her down that road. It mentions anorexia, bulimia, depression, drug abuse, sex and alcohol consumption. It is a story about mistakes, and lives interlocking with one another but never truly connecting. There is more to life than cause and effect. - Melissa (QBD)
, 28/10/2017
Falling Into Place
One afternoon in physics class, Liz Emerson reviewed Newton's Laws of Motion. Then, after school, she decides to test them by running her car off the road. Suspended between life and death, questions of the why, who, and the how plague the reader. This book is perfect for fans of If I Stay and Thirteen Reasons Why. Told in a non-linear narrative, the writing will break your heart and the characters will keep you up at night. A provocative must-read. - Jocelyn
, 10/05/2016

You might also like