Due to the COVID-19 pandemic Australia Post are experiencing delivery delays. Orders may take up to 1 week longer to arrive to metro areas.
Thank you for your patience and understanding during this time.

In The Clearing

In The Clearing by J.P. Pomare
ISBN
9781869713393
Published
Binding
Paperback
 
Dimensions
153 x 236mm

'another breathtaking page-turner from the author of CALL ME EVIE' - Christian White, bestselling author of THE NOWHERE CHILD

Amy has only ever known what life is like in the Clearing. She knows what's expected of her. She knows what to do to please her elders, and how to make sure life in the community remains happy and calm. That is, until a new young girl joins the group. She isn't fitting in; she doesn't want to stay. What happens next will turn life as Amy knows it on its head.

Freya has gone to great lengths to feel like a 'normal person'. In fact, if you saw her go about her day with her young son, you'd think she was an everyday mum. That is, until a young girl goes missing and someone from her past, someone she hasn't seen for a very long time, arrives in town.
13.99
RRP: $32.99
58% off RRP


Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

Other Titles by J.P. Pomare

Description
Information
Reviews
'another breathtaking page-turner from the author of CALL ME EVIE' - Christian White, bestselling author of THE NOWHERE CHILD

Amy has only ever known what life is like in the Clearing. She knows what's expected of her. She knows what to do to please her elders, and how to make sure life in the community remains happy and calm. That is, until a new young girl joins the group. She isn't fitting in; she doesn't want to stay. What happens next will turn life as Amy knows it on its head.

Freya has gone to great lengths to feel like a 'normal person'. In fact, if you saw her go about her day with her young son, you'd think she was an everyday mum. That is, until a young girl goes missing and someone from her past, someone she hasn't seen for a very long time, arrives in town.

As Amy and Freya's story intertwines the secrets of the past bubble up to the surface. This rural Aussie town's dark underbelly is about to be exposed and lives will be destroyed.
ISBN:
9781869713393
Publication Date:
31 / 12 / 2019
Dimensions:
153 x 236mm
Untitled
J P Pomare will have you hooked with his latest page turner “the clearing” This psychology thriller set in rural Australia keeps you guessing with twists and turns that don’t stop. Freya is a women with a secret she will do anything to protect. All Amy knows is life in the clearing when their paths cross lies start to unravel and the lives of these two women will be turned upside down - Isabelle (QBD)
, 15/01/2020
Untitled
J.P Pomare can do no wrong! In The Clearing had me hooked from the first page, and I couldn't stop until I'd engulfed myself in Amy's world completely. If you loved Call Me Evie, In The Clearing has everything you could want in a book. For fans of Nowhere Child and The Wife and The Widow, J.P was nice enough to hide a little secret message in one of the books. Can you find it? - Emily (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
Another un-putdownable book from J.P Pomare. If you liked call me evie you'll love this one. a fast paced and insane novel with plots twists that could give you whiplash. If you love great reads give this one a go, another 5 stars from me! - Jacqueline (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
J.P. Pomare's debut novel "Call Me Evie" blew me away, somehow he's outdone himself with his new thriller. Pomare's ability to set up complex plots filled with twists and suspense kept me awake, itching to finish, and when I did I was thinking about it for days after. An amazing addition to the modern thriller scene, and a must read for fans of The Nowhere Child. - Caitlin (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
What an outstanding second offering from J.P.Pomare. I thoroughly enjoyed 'Call me Evie' however, 'In the clearing' has left me in awe of his story telling talent. Great pace infused with the perfect balance of intrigue. A page turning psychological thriller that will have you hooked until the last page. - Elizabeth (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
Written from the view of Freya, who is hiding beneath a tentative veneer of normality - and Amy, a girl trapped in a society and living a far from normal life. Their stories intertwine and both lives are forever changed. There are more twists than a rollercoaster in this one! - Fiona (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
I thought I'd figured out the twists in this book, but it went far deeper and more screwed up than I could have ever imagined! A terrifying and intense story where you'll be shocked all the way through to the end. - Eleanor (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
If you enjoyed Call Me Evie then you will absolutely adore this book! Mystery, intrigue, characters you will so quickly attatch yourself to; this book has all the best parts for anyone that enjoys psychological thrillers. A fantastic insight into another world that has so many astounding moments that will make your jaw drop. - Eden (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
Amy has never fit into life in the Clearing and Freya has done everything in her power to appear like she fits in, that she belongs. As secrets and lies come to light the past and present meet to shatter the lives of all those involved in this gripping page-turner. - Caitlyn (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
Absolutely blown away by this book. Could not put it down! What an emotional roller coaster that was! 100 percent recommended to fans of thriller fiction. It's not a long book but it's a real page turner with a terrifying premise. Great Quote from Christian White bestselling author of The Nowhere Child... 'another breathtaking page-turner' - Karen (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
From the author of CALL ME EVIE, this book will make you question how well you really know the people in your life. It follows the stories of two women. One is trying to live a 'normal' life, the other trying to escape a dangerous one. The first chapter will have you hooked and you will not want to put it down. You will think that you know what is going to happen next and you will be wrong! - Cassandra (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
J.P. Pomare has done it again! This book will have you sitting on the edge of your seat whilst you follow the lives of both Freya and Amy. With setting so realistic this story will take you on an emotional rollercoaster as you delve into a thriller like no other. - Elizabeth (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
Using the Anne Hamilton Bryne story as reference, J.P Pomare has done it again. Follow the lives of Amy and Freya as they go about their lives until a child goes missing. Their story interwines and you learn the secrets of the small rural town they live in. Things are not always what they seem to be. Some secrets are hrd to keep buried in small rural town's. The best book to read over summer. - Louise (QBD)
, 31/12/2019
Untitled
This is a book that you will be loathed to stop. If you have any plans that will interrupt your reading, cancel them! Grab yourself a comforting drink and tuck yourself in. Amy lives within a cult in Victorian bushland who watch for new siblings, and Freya is a paranoid single mum. After a child goes missing Freya is sure her son is next. Their stories collide but not in the way you first expect. - Jazmin (QBD)
, 30/12/2019
Untitled
A great read if you like a thriller. I couldnt put the book down. Set in a rural Australian town, Amy and Freya lives and secrets are exposed. - Louise (QBD)
, 30/12/2019
Untitled
A completely enthralling pychological thriller that will have you hooked from the beginning. A chilling tale about Amy, a young girl who has only ever known life raised by a cult in a place called The Clearing and Freya a women who has gone to great lengths to hide who she really is. Their two worlds collide in a gripping story that will keep you guessing until the very end. - Amanda (QBD)
, 30/12/2019
Untitled
Amy lives in The Clearing. It's all she's known. And when a new girl joins her Family, life as Amy knows it changes forever. Freya lives with her needy son. She is super conscious about security and privacy because she has a pyscho ex and lost her first son years ago. This fast paced thriller with twists and tension and a cult like feel keeps you engrossed as these two stories come together. - Megan (QBD)
, 29/12/2019
Untitled
An overbearing mother with trust issues. A girl who trusts too much. And a secret cult community that connects them. This book is sure to keep you on your toes, and checking out your window at night! It will challenge your perceptions of the world, and leave you asking the question: "Just how many secrets are buried behind perfectly practiced smiles?" - Brooke (QBD)
, 29/12/2019
Untitled
Another Eerie masterpiece by the new king of Aussie Thrillers, "In the Clearing" will have you staying up late to finish it in one shot! Told from two perspectives; one a young girl, brainwashed and controlled by a mysterious cult, the other a thick skinned, tough single mother, and set in rural Australia, "In the Clearing" brings a terrifying reality close to home. - Kale (QBD)
, 27/12/2019
Untitled
If you thought Call Me Evie by ther same author was good, you ain't seen nothing yet ! In the clearing takes thrilers to a new level. As fast paced as a James Patterson novel and has more twists than a windy road. It's certainly one of those books that you won't want to put down once you start. From mysterious strangers appearing, to manipulative cult leaders, it's just the best holiday read - Peter (QBD)
, 26/12/2019
Untitled
An intriguing and intricate thriller told from the perspective of a child in the throes of a Victorian survivalist cult and a woman who has escaped her past and is attempting to rebuild her identity. This novel was fast paced and I found myself so emotionally invested in these two characters. It was a such a page turner and I was blown away! - Tricia (QBD)
, 17/12/2019
Untitled
I can't express how much I loved J.P Pomare's new psychological thriller. A tense and twisty novel, it will keep you guessing until the very end! If you only read one thriller for the year, THIS IS IT! - Kylie (QBD)
, 02/12/2019
Untitled
The new novel by J P Pomare is as full of twists and thrills as his debut, but made even more haunting by the fact that it features stolen children and a sinister cult. Freya is living out her life quietly with her young son and her yoga studio, desperate to hide from the troubles in her past. But when a young girl is snatched off the street, she discovers her past is coming to find her. Amy loves her mother and would do anything for her family, including kidnapping a new sister so the family can be complete. But how far will she be willing to go? And what if she can never come back? Told in alternate chapters from each characters point of view, this novel builds and builds to a shocking revelation. Pomare's writing is full of suspense and malice, the characters desperation as their situations get worse is gripping and the twist at the end will leave you breathless. Another awesome read from the New Zealand author. - Shannon (QBD)
, 28/10/2019

You might also like


RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.