• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    The Bacchae And Other Plays

    By: Euripides

    Date Released

    Only available to order
    Estimated 10 - 14 business days until dispatch

    If ordered before the 14th of December, this product should arrive by Christmas unless it is going to regional Australia
    Including: 'The Bacchae'; 'Phoenician Women'; 'Orestes'; 'Iphigeneia At Aulis'; and 'Rhesus'

    Through their sheer range, daring innovation, flawed but eloquent characters and intriguing plots, the plays of Euripides have shocked and stimulated audiences since the fifth century BC. 'Phoenician Women' portrays the rival sons of King Oedipus and their mother's doomed attempts at reconciliation, while 'Orestes' shows a son ravaged with guilt after the vengeful murder of his mother. 'In The Bacchae', a king mistreats a newcomer to his land, little knowing that he is the god Dionysus disguised as a mortal, while in 'Iphigenia At Aulis', the Greek leaders take the horrific decision to sacrifice a princess to gain favour from the gods in their mission to Troy. Finally, the 'Rhesus' depicts a world of espionage between the warring Greek and Trojan camps.

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444