The Golden Child: When teenage cyberbullying ends in tragedy, who is to blame?

The Golden Child: When teenage cyberbullying ends in tragedy, who is to blame? by Wendy James
QTY
-+
$19.99
 
 


ISBN
9781460754566
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
 
 

Title not yet released

Other Titles by Wendy James

Description
Information
Shortlisted for 2017 Ned Kelly Award. Two families must grapple with the tragic fallout of cyberbullying. 'A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist' Australian Women's Weekly Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal.Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-lifealter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband,mother-in-law, her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects ofher existence, have moved into teenage-hood - their lives increasingly mysterious to her.Relocating from the US to Newcastle, she feels more distant than ever. Then a schoolmate is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As a child lies suspended between life and death, twofamilies are forced to question everything they believed about their children, and the answersare terrifying.This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectresof selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears ofparenting, social media and queen bees, and it asks the question: how wellcan you know your child in the digital age?A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica.PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN CHILD'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century about parenting' Australian Women's Weekly'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty''Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Danielle HawkinsPRAISE FOR WENDY JAMES'S OTHER BOOKS'A wonderful, unputdownable story by a great Australian author' Liane Moriarty, Australian Women's Weekly'A penetrating picture of our life and times . . . a knockout' Canberra Times'Cunning psychological portraits and clean prose make for an absorbing domestic thriller' The Age
ISBN:
9781460754566
Publication Date:
20 / 11 / 2017

You might also like