Ultraluminous

Ultraluminous by Katherine Faw
ISBN
9781250192738
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
208
Dimensions
139 x 216 x 13mm

The daring new novel from Katherine Faw, the brilliant author of Young God, is a scintillating story of money, sex, and power told in Faw’s viciously sharp prose. A high-end, girlfriend-experience prostitute called K has just returned to her native New York City, after more than a decade abroad in Dubai with a man she recalls as the Sheikh. She sets up a rotation of clients—all of them in finance, each with different delusions of how he is important to her—and makes time for a former Army Ranger who served in Afghanistan, whom she doesn’t charge.

Her days are strangely orderly: a repetition of dinners, personal grooming, museum exhibitions, sex, Duane Reades (where she goes to buy sushi), gallery shows, heroin, and art films. She finds the pattern confirming, but does she really believe it’s sustainable? Or do the barely discernible rifts suggest a pattern within the pattern, a larger scheme she’s not showing us, a truth that won’t be revealed until we can see everything?

-One of Vulture's "Ten Best Thrillers of the Year" and one of The New Yorker's "Books We Loved in 2017"
22.99





Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

Loyalty Reward Rebate
  1. $1.15*
  2. $1.61*
  3. $2.30*
  4. $2.30*
  * Rebate calculated before redemption of credit. See Terms for more information.

Other Titles by Katherine Faw

Description
Information
The daring new novel from Katherine Faw, the brilliant author of Young God, is a scintillating story of money, sex, and power told in Faw’s viciously sharp prose. A high-end, girlfriend-experience prostitute called K has just returned to her native New York City, after more than a decade abroad in Dubai with a man she recalls as the Sheikh. She sets up a rotation of clients—all of them in finance, each with different delusions of how he is important to her—and makes time for a former Army Ranger who served in Afghanistan, whom she doesn’t charge.

Her days are strangely orderly: a repetition of dinners, personal grooming, museum exhibitions, sex, Duane Reades (where she goes to buy sushi), gallery shows, heroin, and art films. She finds the pattern confirming, but does she really believe it’s sustainable? Or do the barely discernible rifts suggest a pattern within the pattern, a larger scheme she’s not showing us, a truth that won’t be revealed until we can see everything?

-One of Vulture's "Ten Best Thrillers of the Year" and one of The New Yorker's "Books We Loved in 2017"
-For readers of Han Kang and Ottessa Moshfegh
ISBN:
9781250192738
Publication Date:
04 / 12 / 2018
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
139 x 216 x 13mm

You might also like


RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.