• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    By: Nina Bawden

    QTY
    -+
    $10.99
     
     
    ISBN
    9780141909417
    Date Released
    Binding
    eBook
     
     

    Instant Download

    Description
    A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted a whole generation of readers. Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily TelegraphPerfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.
    Now part of the A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime - seriesNina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig.

    You might also like



    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444