• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    Penguin Modern Classics: The Life to Come & Other Stories

    By: E M Forster

    Date Released

    Out of Print

    'I should have been a more famous writer if I had written or published more, but sex has prevented the latter.'
    E. M. Forster, 1964
    After the appearance of A Passage to India in 1924, E. M. Forster published no further novels, and of the fourteen stories included in this volume, only two appeared in print before his death. For, like the posthumously published Maurice, most of them explored the theme of homosexuality at a time when to publish such material would have been unthinkable. As a collection, these stories throw considerable light on Forster's artistic development. Written between 1903 and 1958, with a period of sixteen years separating the six earlier pieces from the later, more explicit work, they vary greatly in language, mood and style and show Forster to have been at ease in a number of literary genres. For the modern reader, the whole volume is 'beautifully written and has a freshness, sparkle and bite' (Sunday Telegraph).

    You might also like

    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444