• All Products
      • Paperback
      • Hardcover
      • eBook
      • Audiobook

    The Crash Of Hennington

    By: Patrick Ness

    $22.95
     
     
    ISBN
    9780007139422
    Date Released
    Binding
    Paperback
    Pages
    272
     

    Out of Print

    Description
    A satirical novel with real emotional depth, from a debut author who will appeal to readers of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins.

    With the legendary Cora Larsson finally stepping down as mayor to make way for her protégé, Max Latham, the seaside city of Hennington finds itself in a state of flux. In the midst of the worst heatwave in living memory, the crash of rhinos that wanders the city's streets and parks is becoming restless, and has caused several rush-hour traffic jams this week.

    Across town, bow-legged and malevolent Country Club owner Thomas Banyon's temperature is also rising, as he stews over the small size of his particular universe - and at the tight leash held on him by his powerful father, Archie, scion of Banyon Enterprises and friend to Cora Larsson. In fact, come to think of it, Thomas just might be the perfect candidate to run for mayor against Cora's golden boy, Max . . .

    Told with great style, wit and feeling, The Crash of Hennington is a magnificent satirical novel with real emotional depth. Reminiscent of the work of Peter Carey and Tom Robbins, it combines a refreshing, unshowy intelligence with a wonderfully rich cast of characters, in a setting that is both surreally different and undeniably familiar. Welcome to Hennington.

    You might also like



    Accepted Payments
    QBD Proudly Supports

    Need help? Call us on (07) 3291 7444