The Love That I Have

The Love That I Have by James Moloney
ISBN
9781460754641
Published
Binding
Paperback
 
 

'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF'- The Australian Women's Weekly Margot Baumann has left school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. But this is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin.Margot is shielded from the camp's brutality as she has no contact with prisoners. But she does handle their mail and, when given a cigarette lighter and told to burn the letters, she is horrified by the callous act she must carry out with her own hands. This is especially painful since her brother was taken prisoner at Stalingrad and her family have had no letters from him. So Margot steals a few letters, intending to send them in secret, only to find herself drawn to their heart-rending words of hope, of despair, and of love.This is how Margot comes to know Dieter Kleinschmidt - through the beauty and the passion of his letters to his girlfriend.And since his girlfriend is also named Margot, it is like reading love letters written for her.From award-winning Australian author James Moloney, comes a fresh and compelling story about love, loss and profound bravery. For fans of The Book Thief, this powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 stays with you long after the final page is read.MORE PRAISE FOR THE LOVE THAT I HAVE:'a beautiful, heartbreaking and affecting read. ... Definitely one for book club, just don't forget the tissues.' - The Australian Women's Weekly'a heartbreaking, harrowing and deeply hopeful story ... for readers of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' - Books+Publishing'A compelling and emotionally charged story of young love and survival, bravery and humanity. The closing months of the Second World War in Germany are seen from a surprising and fresh perspective. I was holding back tears from page 72.' - Shona Martyn, Spectrum Editor, The Sydney Morning Herald'a profoundly hopeful and humanity-affirming novel, portraying the equalising power that compassion has above all injustice. This is a novel for people who enjoyed The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, All the Light We Cannot See, and more recently, The Tattooist of Auschwitz.' - Better Reading'This is historical fiction at its best - thoughtfully written, relevant today, throwing new light on well-worn themes of love, loyalty and friendship. It is also a gut-wrenching read that is up there with Anne Frank's diary for immediacy and impact. Recommended.' - CBCA Reading Time
19.99


Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.
Sorry, this product will not arrive before Christmas

Other Titles by James Moloney

Description
Information
'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF'- The Australian Women's Weekly Margot Baumann has left school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. But this is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration camp near Berlin.Margot is shielded from the camp's brutality as she has no contact with prisoners. But she does handle their mail and, when given a cigarette lighter and told to burn the letters, she is horrified by the callous act she must carry out with her own hands. This is especially painful since her brother was taken prisoner at Stalingrad and her family have had no letters from him. So Margot steals a few letters, intending to send them in secret, only to find herself drawn to their heart-rending words of hope, of despair, and of love.This is how Margot comes to know Dieter Kleinschmidt - through the beauty and the passion of his letters to his girlfriend.And since his girlfriend is also named Margot, it is like reading love letters written for her.From award-winning Australian author James Moloney, comes a fresh and compelling story about love, loss and profound bravery. For fans of The Book Thief, this powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 stays with you long after the final page is read.MORE PRAISE FOR THE LOVE THAT I HAVE:'a beautiful, heartbreaking and affecting read. ... Definitely one for book club, just don't forget the tissues.' - The Australian Women's Weekly'a heartbreaking, harrowing and deeply hopeful story ... for readers of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' - Books+Publishing'A compelling and emotionally charged story of young love and survival, bravery and humanity. The closing months of the Second World War in Germany are seen from a surprising and fresh perspective. I was holding back tears from page 72.' - Shona Martyn, Spectrum Editor, The Sydney Morning Herald'a profoundly hopeful and humanity-affirming novel, portraying the equalising power that compassion has above all injustice. This is a novel for people who enjoyed The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, All the Light We Cannot See, and more recently, The Tattooist of Auschwitz.' - Better Reading'This is historical fiction at its best - thoughtfully written, relevant today, throwing new light on well-worn themes of love, loyalty and friendship. It is also a gut-wrenching read that is up there with Anne Frank's diary for immediacy and impact. Recommended.' - CBCA Reading Time
ISBN:
9781460754641
Publication Date:
17 / 06 / 2019

You might also like


RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.