The American Boy

The American Boy by Andrew Taylor
$29.95
BUY IT NOW
Loyalty Reward Rebate
  1. $1.50*
  2. $2.10*
  3. $3.00*
  4. $3.00*
  * Rebate calculated before redemption of credit. See Terms for more information.
ISBN
9780007109593
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
496
Dimensions
153 x 234mm
Out Of Print

Other Titles by Andrew Taylor

Description
Information
Interweaving real and fictional elements, 'The American Boy' is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of 'An Instance Of The Fingerpost' and 'Possession'.

Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. An heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old.

'The American Boy' is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.
ISBN:
9780007109593
Publication Date:
01 / 09 / 2003
Pages:
496
Dimensions:
153 x 234mm

You might also like