The Seven Sisters

The Seven Sisters by Alex Wheatle
Date Released
129 x 198mm

Out Of Print

Other Titles by Alex Wheatle

An urgent, devastating novel of childhood and escape. The story of four boys' attempts to deal with growing up and overcoming the past.

Glenroy, Bullett, Curvis and Carlton - the best of friends, as tight as blood brothers. They all live in Pinewood Oaks, a home for orphans and children in care, beside the great forest named after the legend of the Seven Sisters.

At the home they are looked after by 'uncles' and 'aunts', go to the local school and try to live like normal children. But, of course, they are not.

When the four decide to run away from the home they head to the neighbouring forest. Freedom comes like a rush - away from the overbearing eye of authority; for the first time, they feel the exhilaration of adolescence. They are also able, for the first time, to dream their future.

Yet the forest slowly asserts its own power, as the story of the Seven Sisters impact on the four. Finally, the past collides with the present and forces them to face the brutal truths of their lives, the cruel theft of innocence and drives them to a final act that destroys their childhood forever.

In 'The Seven Sisters', award-winning author Alex Wheatle unveils a shocking portrait of how a society treats its children. Like 'Lord Of The Flies' and 'Once In A House On Fire', the stains of childhood have dramatic effects, as Carlton, Bullett, Glenroy and Curvis finally have to deal with the past.
Publication Date:
01 / 09 / 2003
129 x 198mm

You might also like