All The Light We Cannot See

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
QTY
-+
$19.99
 
 


ISBN
9780007548699
Date Released
Binding
Paperback
Pages
544
Dimensions
130 x 197 x 35mm

Available at our stores
Estimated 4 - 6 business days until dispatch

Other Titles by Anthony Doerr

Description
Information
Reviews
One of the most acclaimed and bestselling books of 2014. An epic novel set during WW2, from the prize-winner Anthony Doerr.

When Marie Laure goes blind, aged six, her father builds her a model of their Paris neighborhood, so she can memorize it with her fingers and then navigate the real streets. But when the Germans occupy Paris, father and daughter flee to Saint-Malo on the Brittany coast, where Marie-Laure's agoraphobic great uncle lives in a tall, narrow house by the sea wall.

In another world in Germany, an orphan boy, Werner, is enchanted by a crude radio. He becomes a master at building and fixing radios, a talent ultimately makes him a highly specialized tracker of the Resistance. Werner travels through the heart of Hitler Youth to the far-flung outskirts of Russia, and finally into Saint-Malo, where his path converges with Marie-Laure. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, Doerr illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another.

Ten years in the writing, ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE is his most ambitious and dazzling work.
ISBN:
9780007548699
Publication Date:
01 / 04 / 2017
Pages:
544
Dimensions:
130 x 197 x 35mm
Untitled
'All The Light We Cannot See' follows the lives of two children – blind, French, Marie-Laure, and orphaned German boy, Werner on their paths as they struggle to survive the war they are growing up in until a string of events lead their paths to collide. Doerr writes a beautiful prose, rich with imagery. It's a novel you won't want to put down, but be sure to read slow and soak up every last word. Winner of the Fiction Pulitzer Prize in 2015, this book is well-deserving to be on the top of your "to-read” list. - Kirsty (QBD)
, 22/03/2017
Illuminating
"Open your eyes and see what you can with them before they close forever" This book is without a doubt one of the most illuminating and moving novels I have ever read. Following the interconnected stories of blind Parisian teenager Marie Laure and Hitler youth orphan Werner Pfennig, Doerr has constructed a stunning tale that highlights the trageddy of war, the power of family and the ferocity of the human spirit. This book is perfect for fans of The Book Thief - a testament to the heart-wrenching, inspiring and often untold stories that emerge from some of the world's worst disasters. - Jess
, 05/07/2016
Fall in love with reading all over again!
Filled with love, betrayal, fear and an unmistakable determination to survive the war, Doerr's book is certain to become your new favourite story. This book is told from two different perspectives � fifteen year old German orphan turned soldier , Werner, and a brave, yet blind, young Parisian, Marie Laure. At its simplest, this book is a story of two young, innocent souls trying to survive and fight in a war which is not theirs. Doerr shows us scenes of unimaginable desperation and lost childhoods, as he reminds us of the importance of family, and how even the most evil of people fear death. 'All the Light We Cannot See' is a book that will remain with you long after you finish the last page. Doerr's work casts a long, dark shadow over 'The Book Thief'. I wish every book was as enjoyable and addictive as this one! It will definitely make you fall in love with reading again! - Jacqueline, QBD Epping
, 01/02/2016

You might also like