The Engraver's Secret

The Engraver's Secret by Lisa Medved


ISBN
9781460764275
Published
Binding
Paperback

Two women, a mysterious map, and a family secret spanning hundreds of years ... A stunning art history thriller for fans of Dominic Smith, Pip Williams and Lauren Chater set around the life, times, and feuds of the artist Peter Paul Rubens. What do you do when the weight of betrayal grows too heavy to bear?

Innocence and delight, guile and misapprehension, the hint of indifference, even disdain on her pretty features. Fickle, he called her, a mixture of surprise and confidence. She is all that and more, brought to life with the ink strokes of a genius.Spanish Netherlands, 1620s: raised by her father Lucas to know her mind, Antonia Vorsterman sees everything that goes on in her world - all the rivalries and jealousies that course through the artists' studios and workshops of Antwerp.Drawn into the lively household of the artist Peter Paul Rubens, whose work her father engraves for a living, Antonia begins to see a life of colour and possibility for herself - until Lucas entrusts her with a terrible secret that will alter the course of their family's future.Belgium, present day: haunted by the recent loss of her mother, art historian Charlotte Hubert moves to Antwerp to research her hero, the Baroque master Rubens, and to seek answers about the father she's never met.But a startling discovery hidden inside an ancient map folio turns Charlotte's quiet academic life into a dangerous hunt for long-lost treasures, missing for 400 years. In the shadowy cloisters of the university, where ambition, obsession and violence run deep, nothing is as it seems.Charlotte is certain of one thing - no one can be trusted.Centuries apart, Charlotte's and Antonia's lives intertwine as they unearth long-buried secrets about a master and his engraver where theft, betrayal and the fallout of family loyalty run rampant.
24.99
RRP: $32.99
24% off RRP



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

You might also like

Lola In The Mirror
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Mr Einsteins Secretary
44.99
29.99
33% Off
Mad Honey
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Good Material
34.99
24.99
29% Off
The Wartime Book Club
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Boy Swallows Universe
22.99
16.99
26% Off
The Womens Pages
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Daughters Tale
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Yellowface
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Titans Of War
39.99
14.99
63% Off
Black Sheep
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Without A Doubt
29.99
14.99
50% Off
Centre Stage
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Khaki Town
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Pearl Thief
32.99
14.99
55% Off
My Favourite Mistake
34.99
22.99
34% Off
A Little Life
22.99
17.99
22% Off

RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.