Tiny Uncertain Miracles: The most uplifting and heart-warming novel you'll read this year for fans of Bonnie Garmus, Elizabeth Strout and Sa

Tiny Uncertain Miracles: The most uplifting and heart-warming novel you'll read this year for fans of Bonnie Garmus, Elizabeth Strout and Sa by Michelle Johnston


ISBN
9781460764619
Published
Binding
Paperback

Miracles are notoriously unreliable. But sometimes, just when they're needed, they turn up - although not always in the form that we expect ... 'A novel luminous with love and hope that will change the way you see the world.' Kathryn Heyman

Awkward, hapless Marick is still struggling with the loss of his wife, his child and his faith when he is reluctantly thrust into the position of chaplain at a large public hospital. Shortly after arriving, he meets Hugo, a hospital scientist and a man almost as lost as Marick himself, who is working in a forgotten lab, deep in the subterranean realms of the hospital. Hugo is convinced that the bacteria he uses for protein production have - unbelievably - begun to produce gold. Is it alchemy, evolution, a hoax or even ... possibly ... a miracle?In the meantime, Christmas is approaching, the number of homeless outside the hospital is increasing, the Director of Operational Services is pressing Marick about his weekly KPIs, you can't buy chocolate in the hospital shop anymore, and Marick keeps waking with nightmares at 4 am every night. If ever a miracle was needed, it's now.A tender, sweet, sad, gritty, slyly funny and unexpectedly uplifting novel about family, friendship, faith, love - and alchemy - Tiny Uncertain Miracles is a hopeful and luminous gift to all readers.PRAISE FOR TINY UNCERTAIN MIRACLES'Johnston captures the brutal reality of life with a lyricism and gentleness that will touch many. Readers of Elizabeth Strout, Mitch Albom and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine will find similarities and enjoyment in Tiny Uncertain Miracles.' Books+Publishing'Charming ... The writing is sharp, clever, and delicate ... a joyous and moving read.' Sydney Morning Herald'A poignant, heartfelt story about faith, miracles, friendship and forgiveness' West Australian'Tiny Uncertain Miracles strikes gold ... written with warm empathy, and deep, intellectual rigour ... a writer working at the height of her skill.' The Australian'Johnston has delivered a compelling and skilfully constructed novel full to brimming with families, friendship, the intricacies of flawed human behaviour and the frailty of the human body. It will make you smile while breaking your heart. Fans of Hilde Hinton's A Solitary Walk on the Moon and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine will find a home in their hearts for Tiny Uncertain Miracles.' Readings'Johnston ... touches on difficult subjects with a light hand and a gentle tone, delivered through clean, supple, accessible prose. There is a deceptive simplicity to the work, which, on closer inspection, turns out to be the elegance of a right fit. Johnston has skilfully crafted a cohesive and engaging tale ... with an empowering message of hope and meaning.' Australian Book Review'Michelle Johnston's highly anticipated second novel is literary chiaroscuro with a dash of figurative pointillism ... Johnston's prose stuns. The usual writerly cliches (masterful, poetic, nuanced, evocative) don't do her work adequate justice. Tiny Uncertain Miracles is an intelligent exploration of logical fallacies, mysterious proteins, and the unbearable fragility of life.' Writing WA
March 2024 Book Frenzy
19.99
RRP: $24.99
20% off RRP



Instore Price: $24.99
Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.

Other Titles by Michelle Johnston

Dustfall
26.99
21.59
20% Off

You might also like

A Little Life
22.99
17.99
22% Off
Titans Of War
39.99
14.99
63% Off
Centre Stage
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Twisted Games
22.99
17.99
22% Off
Khaki Town
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Mad Honey
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Boy Swallows Universe
22.99
16.99
26% Off
The Sugar Palace
32.99
22.99
30% Off
The Lavender Keeper
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Pearl Thief
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Good Material
34.99
24.99
29% Off
Prima Facie
34.99
22.99
34% Off
Yellowface
32.99
22.99
30% Off
Twisted Love
22.99
17.99
22% Off
Holly
34.99
22.99
34% Off
Black Sheep
32.99
19.99
39% Off
Mr Einsteins Secretary
44.99
29.99
33% Off
Lola In The Mirror
32.99
19.99
39% Off

RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.