Wake by Shelley Burr


ISBN
9780733647826
Published
Binding
Paperback
Pages
368

Evelyn simply vanished.

The small town of Nannine lies in the harsh red interior of New South Wales. Once a thriving outback centre, years of punishing drought have whittled it down to no more than a couple of pubs and a police station. And its one sinister claim to fame: the still-unsolved disappearance of Evelyn McCreery nineteen years ago from the bedroom she shared with her twin sister.

Mina McCreery's life has been defined by the intense and ongoing public interest in her sister's case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, Mina lives alone on her family's sunbaked destocked sheep farm. The million-dollar reward her mother established to solve the disappearance has never been paid out.

Enter Lane Holland, a private investigator who dropped out of the police academy to earn a living cracking cold cases. Lane has his eye on the unclaimed money, but he also has darker motivations for wanting to solve the case.

Compulsively readable, with an unforgettable setting and cast of characters, WAKE is a powerful, unsparing story of how trauma ripples outward when people's private tragedies become public property, and how it's never too late for the truth to set things right.

'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction.' CHRIS HAMMER

'A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading.' ROSE CARLYLE

'An effortlessly accomplished, astonishing debut set against the heat and isolation of the Australian outback.' DINUKA MCKENZIE

'If you love Jane Harper's books, you will love this even more.' KAYTE NUNN

'This is Australian crime fiction at its very best.' MARK BRANDI

'WAKE is an incredible read: a hugely compelling mystery with a vivid rural Australia setting and fascinatingly damaged characters.' ALLIE REYNOLDS
22.99
RRP: $32.99
30% off RRP

Afterpay
Available on orders $50 to $1000 - Learn more



Enter your Postcode or Suburb to view availability and delivery times.
Description
Information
Reviews
Evelyn simply vanished.

The small town of Nannine lies in the harsh red interior of New South Wales. Once a thriving outback centre, years of punishing drought have whittled it down to no more than a couple of pubs and a police station. And its one sinister claim to fame: the still-unsolved disappearance of Evelyn McCreery nineteen years ago from the bedroom she shared with her twin sister.

Mina McCreery's life has been defined by the intense and ongoing public interest in her sister's case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, Mina lives alone on her family's sunbaked destocked sheep farm. The million-dollar reward her mother established to solve the disappearance has never been paid out.

Enter Lane Holland, a private investigator who dropped out of the police academy to earn a living cracking cold cases. Lane has his eye on the unclaimed money, but he also has darker motivations for wanting to solve the case.

Compulsively readable, with an unforgettable setting and cast of characters, WAKE is a powerful, unsparing story of how trauma ripples outward when people's private tragedies become public property, and how it's never too late for the truth to set things right.

'One of the year's best debuts. Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent in Australian crime fiction.' CHRIS HAMMER

'A nerve-jangling thriller with a brilliantly twisty plot, WAKE is also a haunting exploration of trauma in the age of celebrity victimhood. Shelley Burr's true-to-life characters, beautifully evoked landscapes and breakneck pacing make for compulsive reading.' ROSE CARLYLE

'An effortlessly accomplished, astonishing debut set against the heat and isolation of the Australian outback.' DINUKA MCKENZIE

'If you love Jane Harper's books, you will love this even more.' KAYTE NUNN

'This is Australian crime fiction at its very best.' MARK BRANDI

'WAKE is an incredible read: a hugely compelling mystery with a vivid rural Australia setting and fascinatingly damaged characters.' ALLIE REYNOLDS
ISBN:
9780733647826
Publication Date:
27 / 04 / 2022
Pages:
368
Untitled
Shelley Burr's debut novel hits all the marks, with vivid descriptions of rural Australia and gripping twists and turns at every corner. Perfect for fans of Jane Harper and Gillian Flynn, 'Wake' follows Mina McCreery, a woman trying to move past her sister's disappearance, and Lane Holland, a mysterious PI with questionable intentions. Definitely a must-read for any crime lovers. - Bonnie (QBD)
, 02/05/2022
Untitled
A woman with a heart of ice, the scorching heat of the outback, and a detective desparete to link it all together. Wake is an intensely atmospheric rural Australian crime drama following complex, interconnected characters as they uncover a 19 year old cold-case; the disappearance of Evelyn McCreery. This powerful book had me guessing until the very end - I couldn't recommend it enough. - Rhiarn (QBD)
, 01/05/2022
Untitled
Wake is another great Australian crime fiction novel. It has very engaging characters,beautifully discribed Australian landscape, a great plot, many twists just when you think you know what is happening, and an ending you don't see coming. Perfect for fans of Jane Harper and Chris Hammer. - Peter (QBD)
, 28/04/2022
Untitled
Mina McCreery is fed up with living her life in the shadow of her missing twin, she's anxious and suspicious of any attention especially from newcomers to her small town. Lane Holland is searching, for redemption, for money and for Mina's sister Evelyn. This hugely compelling mystery by Shelley Burr transports you to rural Australia where the people taken aren't the only ones hurt. - Paige (QBD)
, 28/04/2022
Untitled
Mina leads a small anxious life on a remote farm still trying to come to terms with the disappearance of her twin sister almost two decades earlier. Along comes Lane, a police academy dropout who earns his living solving cold cases and she reluctantly lets him into her tightly controlled life. Can he really help find out what happened to Evie? A great read that I would thoroughly recommend. - Lucy (QBD)
, 24/04/2022
Untitled
Hooks you in and doesn't stop! A fascinating Australian debut that puts you sweltering in the outback with your nerves on edge. With remarkable characters and an unforgettable twist, WAKE is an unmissable tale of the undying love between two sisters and the lengths we go to for justice. - Katrina (QBD)
, 17/04/2022

You might also like

Better off Dead
32.99
16.99
48% Off
The Judges List
32.99
16.99
48% Off
The Dark Hours
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Nowhere Child
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Thursday Murder Club
22.99
16.99
26% Off
Cold Heart
24.99
14.99
40% Off
Fear No Evil
32.99
16.99
48% Off
The Quickie
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Autopsy
32.99
32.99
_% Off
The Wife And The Widow
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Lake House
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Pieces Of Her
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Naked In Death
29.99
14.99
50% Off
Abandoned In Death
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The People vs Alex Cross
32.99
14.99
55% Off
Run Rose Run
32.99
19.99
39% Off
The Woman In Darkness
32.99
14.99
55% Off
The Law Of Innocence
32.99
14.99
55% Off
1st To Die
32.99
14.99
55% Off

RRP refers to the Recommended Retail Price as set out by the original publisher at time of release.
The RRP set by overseas publishers may vary to those set by local publishers due to exchange rates and shipping costs.
Due to our competitive pricing, we may have not sold all products at their original RRP.